The Speedy Procrastinator – one

Hello all,

I’ve decided to start this blog to track my training for my upcoming half marathon in Toronto on May 5th 2013. Given that it is April 1st… I think I will entitle this piece as “The Speedy Procrastinator”.

Runner: Jasmin Glaw
Height: 5’3

Weight: 114lbs

Body Type: Averagely Athletic

Shoes of choice: Nike Free Run 2

Inspiration: Tristan Miller, Run Like Crazy.
Previous races: 10K Ottawa Race Weekend, 5K Around the Bay.

I had signed up for this race end of last year as a personal challenge. Last May a friend and I ran the 10K for the Ottawa Race Weekend; my time was 1:04.I have roughly 5 weeks to train for this 21k race in Toronto. Now don’t get me wrong I have been training but not as efficiently as I would like. I am an avid runner and gym go-er; my gym days range from 3-4 days a week. But now that the snow is attempting to melt in Ottawa I need to take the time I have and get ouside!

For those who aren’t into running should know that long distance races the body endures a lot. This affects not only your muscles and bones but running is also a mental thing so I have to be smart and aware of my limits.

These are a couple of subjects that I will write about or post useful links during this last minute 5 week training.

Now you may be asking, ‘what’s your training plan?’. Well it’s a lot better than my first training plan… ‘Run your ass off’… Haha! Now I’m going to gain kilometres each week and put more focus on stretching and upper and lower body strength; more importantly RECOVERY.

While researching some different plans I found there are others just like me… Last minute, procrastinators, busy bodies! Below is a chart that Men’s Health and Fitness Reporter, Michael Easter used to train for his half marathon… (http://news.menshealth.com/half-marathon-training/2012/11/08/)

Week 1
Tuesday – 3km Fartlek *

Wednesday – Lower Body Strength W/ Foam Rolling

Thursday 3km
Friday – Upper Body Strength W/ Foam Rolling
Saturday – Rest

Sunday – Run 11km

Week 2
Tuesday – 3km Fartlek *

Wednesday – Lower Body Strength W/ Foam Rolling

Thursday 3km
Friday – Upper Body Strength W/ Foam Rolling
Saturday – Rest

Sunday – Run 12km

Week 3

Tuesday – 4km Fartlek *

Wednesday – Lower Body Strength W/ Foam Rolling

Thursday 4km
Friday – Upper Body Strength W/ Foam Rolling
Saturday – Rest

Sunday – Run 13km

Week 4

Tuesday – 5km Fartlek *

Wednesday – Lower Body Strength W/ Foam Rolling

Thursday 5km
Friday – Upper Body Strength W/ Foam Rolling
Saturday – Rest

Sunday – Run 14km

Week 5

Tuesday – 5.5km Fartlek *

Wednesday – Lower Body Strength W/ Foam Rolling

Thursday 2-5km (Depending)
Friday – Upper Body Strength W/ Foam Rolling
Saturday – Rest

Sunday – Run 15km

*Fartlek is Swedish for “speed play.” That means you include three to six faster paced intervals per session ranging from 10 seconds to 2 minutes.

That is the plan! Training starts Tuesday April 2nd but tomorrow I’ll probably do some stretching, foam rolling and abs to work out some kinks and Easter chocolate from this weekend!

If you enjoyed this first post, stick around! I plan on posting some vlogs, helpful tips and reviews. I am also open to advice and your opinions!

Until next time,

J

Follow me!
MapMyRun: jasminleigh

Twitter: @jasminleigh

About jasminglaw

Half Marathoner trying to put a few more races under her belt before taking on a full marathon. I avidly research different running products/gear and articles pertaining to the joy of running. I also enjoy traveling, reading, languages, and good food!
This entry was posted in Articles, Speedy Procrastinator May 2013 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

