Speedy Procrastinator – eleven

For today I think my train of thought will be… it doesn’t matter if you fall behind as long as you catch up. This applies to everything going on in my life right now; running, studying, work, sleep. I will always catch up!

Today I was suppose to do a 3K run and as per usual my route took me over 3K. But that’s okay because it was a nice morning for a run! I’d like to do these shorter runs quicker, but I have been finding it to be a challenge with all the weight lifting in between. If you’d like to check out my progress this week, follow the link below!
http://www.mapmyrun.com/profile/14816694/

********

Fartlek Training (as promised)

Fartlek is a Swedish term for Speed Play. So essentially it helps runners engage different muscle fibers, improve the flow of oxygen throughout the body and aide the development of strength of connective tissue. With this type of training the main goal is to switch up the tempo and get your body used to using spurts of energy.

Base Phase Fartlek Training (From Active.com)

  • During your longest run of the week, run a 1:00 surge every 6 or 7 minutes. This surge is not terribly hard—perhaps only 15 to 20 seconds per mile faster than your normal long-run pace.
  • At the end of the 1:00 surge, simply return to your relaxed rhythm. If you have a hard time returning to “normal” long-run rhythm, then you are running the surges too quickly.

This work will teach you how to change gears as well as deal with bad patches during race efforts.
http://www.active.com/running/Articles/6-Fartlek-Workouts-for-3-Training-Phases

I would suggest this Base Training to anyone who has not done Fartlek training and then move up at you’re own pace. If you follow the link above there are more advanced training phrases for those of you who need a challenge! I know I’ll be starting from the basics!

Well, that’s all for now! I hope you all have/had a great sleep!

J

Follow me!
MapMyRun: jasminleigh
Twitter: @jasminleigh
Instagram: jasminleigh
YouTube: jasminleigh24
(Please note a few of these social media tools are set to private, just send me a request and we can be friends!)

About jasminglaw

Half Marathoner trying to put a few more races under her belt before taking on a full marathon. I avidly research different running products/gear and articles pertaining to the joy of running. I also enjoy traveling, reading, languages, and good food!
This entry was posted in Articles, Speedy Procrastinator May 2013 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

