Speedy Procrastinator – sixteen

I am officially all caught up on my training for this week! I was a little unimpressed with my efforts this week because I would have to do double the amount of work for missing a training day. ie: running, legs and a imprompu zumba class. In addition, as I previously mentioned I had a rather intense muscle spasm at the beginning of the week that I felt until Thursday : l . I took a day off and caught up on another day.

Lesson : ALWAYS LISTEN TO YOUR BODY. Take a break, preferably a protein bar rather than a kit kat 🙂

And now for today… technically yesterday… Since I was smart for once and listened to my body I took Thursday off and moved my run to today. Instead I spend my time working, studying, eating… the usual I suppose! Here is what I accomplished today!

Today I stayed indoors and went to the gym for some cardio, core and upper body.

Run – Treadmill
4K in 24mins
Highlight: My speed has increased and I didn’t go over my scheduled distance!
Comment: It felt really odd running on a treadmill again because I’ve been running outside so often. I found it to be slow and actually more tiresome than wrecking runners outside!
http://www.mapmyrun.com/profile/14816694/

Weights – Upper Body

Bicep Curls (2reps of 15 10lbs)
Overhead extension w/ Dumbbells (2reps of 15 10lbs)
Side and Forward Raise w/ Dumbbells (2reps of 15 10lbs *times 2 sideways and forward)
Horizontal Row w/ Dumbbells (2reps of 15 10lbs)
Shoulder Press (2reps of 15 10lbs)
Reverse Fly (2reps of 15 10lbs)

Highlight: I gained 3 reps on my Upper Body routine.

Abs (reps of 60)
Bicycle Crunch
Crunches – straight up, left, right center, and elbow to knee (left and right)
Leg Lifts with Exercise Ball
Heels to the Heavens
Medicine Ball Twists
This last one I can’t remember the name but essentially you sit with your back straight and feet raised as if to do a Bicycle Crunch. Do a rowing action extending your arms and legs in and out.
I got a good oblique work out from a couple of other things I did as well.

I ended my work out with some stretching and foam rolling!

*************

Thanks to everyone reading… CRUNCH time is coming up! My half-marathon is on May 5th in Toronto and I have two weeks left to train for this bad boy!
Below is the link for the race and I can’t wait to run with anyone who also registered 🙂
http://www.torontomarathon.com/

Good night all!

J

Follow me!
MapMyRun: jasminleigh
Twitter: @jasminleigh
Instagram: jasminleigh
YouTube: jasminleigh24
(Please note a few of these social media tools are set to private, just send me a request and we can be friends!)

About jasminglaw

Half Marathoner trying to put a few more races under her belt before taking on a full marathon. I avidly research different running products/gear and articles pertaining to the joy of running. I also enjoy traveling, reading, languages, and good food!
This entry was posted in Speedy Procrastinator May 2013 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

