Speedy Procastinator – twenty two pt two

Good Afternoon everyone!

After doing some research I found a couple of useful links concerning marathon preparation.
From Gallagher Fitness ( http://www.activesalem.com/blog/2011/04/29/half-marathonmarathon-race-weekend-tips/ ) there is a complete marathon day prep guide. Below is a snippet that I liked…

Key Mental Concepts

Be Positive – You are naturally going to have negative thoughts over the next couple days, so have this list ready to bypass them and move into the world of positive thinking! Repeat them to yourself as often as necessary:

I have no pressure on myself
I’m going to enjoy this
I’ll start slower and enjoy every step
The people around me are great
I’ve earned this!
Because I started slowly, I’m finishing strong
I feel successful!
I have been patient for the last 3-4 months, I can be patient until the 20 mile mark (or the 10 mile mark for the half-marathoners)

Another link I found helpful was Women’s Running. Here I learned that carbo loading should be done around lunch time the day before the race and that your dinner should be lighter.
( http://womensrunning.competitor.com/2012/11/nutrition/what-to-eat-before-your-half-marathon_7365 ). Here is a section that I think is usefull…

During the race, it is recommended that you consume 30-60 grams of carbs per hour. Suggested energy foods to eat during the race include bananas, orange slices, energy, granola or fig bars, dried fruit and even LifeSavers, Sweet Tarts and gummy bear candies. Make sure to rotate between drinking a cup of water and a cup of sports drink every fifteen minutes to restore fluids and electrolyte levels but to avoid too much sodium from just sports drinks and over-hydration from just water.

Lastly here is the vegetarian link for what to eat before the marathon!
http://www.nomeatathlete.com/what-to-eat-before-marathon/

I’m thinking that ill look up some high protein/carb meals to make for lunch the next couple of days. Don’t worry, I’ll share… The recipes!! Lol!

Have a good day everyone!

J

Follow me!

MapMyRun: jasminleigh
Twitter: @jasminleigh
Instagram: jasminleigh
YouTube: jasminleigh24
(Please note a few of these social media tools are set to private, just send me a request and we can be friends!)

About jasminglaw

Half Marathoner trying to put a few more races under her belt before taking on a full marathon. I avidly research different running products/gear and articles pertaining to the joy of running. I also enjoy traveling, reading, languages, and good food!
This entry was posted in Articles, Speedy Procrastinator May 2013 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Speedy Procastinator – twenty two pt two

  1. Ethel says:

    Hello there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and found that it is
    really informative. I am gonna watch out for brussels.
    I will appreciate if you continue this in future. A lot of people will be benefited from your writing.
    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

