Pick up your feet

Good morning!

I had meant to share this thought with you all last night, but I was getting kind of sleepy. Not a lot of you know, however I’ve been having a hard time running to my full potential since my half marathon; it’s been beyond frustrating. The furthest I’ve been able to run is just over 11K, a walk/run. I was not even considering my PR. Since running is largely a mental game, it has been difficult to find the proper motivator to get my butt in gear and just Run It. I’ve huffed and puffed, but that will get you no where.

                (Photo: http://lipstickpowdernpaint.com/2012/09/13/4-tips-for-new-runners/)

After having a chat with my boyfriend he made me realize that the only way that I will feel successful with my running is if I continue to try and maybe create more structure for myself. Also, more importantly to stop putting so much pressure on myself. The pressure you endure mentally takes a large toll on your body physically.

I had a productive evening last night I decided it would be a good night for a short 5K run. I was able to chill out and just Run It. While running I was thinking a lot, but the manner of which I was thinking was clear and determined. I wanted a good run so I told myself to run a good run. Repeating phrases such as, “pick up your feet, you’ll go faster”, “faster you go the faster you will be done and you can hit the mat”. I finished my run in 31mins, it isn’t my fastest time but my endurance level has gotten better since I hit my wall after my half marathon.

So the point of this post was to share my thoughts, my defeats and the way I’ve been trying to overcome my mental challenge with running. If you are having troubles running just tell yourself to pick up your feet because you cannot drag them over the finish line… Lift those feet!!

Thanks for reading this morning friends and for anyone in the Ottawa area… Remember there is free Yoga on Parliament Hill today 12h-13h! I know I’ll be there!

J

Follow me!


MapMyRun: jasminleigh
Twitter: @jasminleigh
Pinterest: jasminleigh
Instagram: jasminleigh
Tumblr: runit24.tumblr.com
(Please note a few of these social media tools are set to private, just send me a request and we can be friends!)

Ps, I’ve got something yummy for my Fitness with Savings post, check it out later today!

About jasminglaw

Half Marathoner trying to put a few more races under her belt before taking on a full marathon. I avidly research different running products/gear and articles pertaining to the joy of running. I also enjoy traveling, reading, languages, and good food!
This entry was posted in Pensés and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

