Tortoise Training – June 24th

Hi everyone and welcome to Tortoise Training!

Given the name of this new entry, you may think… ‘slow and steady wins the race’ or ‘man, she must be a slow runner’. But I actually had the time alloted to train for my next half marathon… over three months! I plan on taking all the time I need to make my PR dreams come true.

This next race is the Scotiabank Toronto Waterfront Half Marathon (http://www.torontowaterfrontmarathon.com/en/index.htm).

My boyfriend Andy signed up as well and we created a fundraising page should any one like to donate to the Canadian Cancer Society ! Follow this link… http://convio.cancer.ca/site/TR/Thirdpartyevent/UFE_ON_odd_?team_id=298268&pg=team&fr_id=14422 . Any donation is appreciated and we will certainly Run It for anything!

What is my strategy?

As a few of you may have previously read, I have been having issues with my calves and shoulders which has made me become rather disappointed in my efforts. I felt as though I was moving backwards as oppose to forwards… I’m not sure I could handle running a Retro-Marathon (a marathon ran backwards). My new strategy is a mix of my first strategy of running short runs during the week and running one long one on the weekend in order to build up my endurance and speed. This plan was taken from Men’s Health Magazine. Last week I did a dry run of what I would like my training weeks to look like…

Monday – Rest or walk. Stretching/Core.
Tuesday – Run 5K (Short run).
Wednesday – Yoga/Legs/Core.
Thursday – Run 5K (Short run).
Friday – Rest and or Travel day (I have been traveling to Toronto a lot and most Fridays have been write offs).
Saturday – Rest or Short run.
Sunday – 8K (Long run).

The distance will go up each week depending on how well I process. I hope to be able to run 21K with an air of ease so I will be mentally confident in my abilities to move up to a 30K next year… and then a full marathon!

As always, thank you for reading and more to come!

J

Follow me!


MapMyRun: jasminleigh
Twitter: @jasminleigh
Instagram: jasminleigh
Vine : jasminleigh
Tumblr: runit24
Pinterest: jasminleigh
(Please note a few of these social media tools are set to private, just send me a request and we can be friends!)

About jasminglaw

Half Marathoner trying to put a few more races under her belt before taking on a full marathon. I avidly research different running products/gear and articles pertaining to the joy of running. I also enjoy traveling, reading, languages, and good food!
This entry was posted in Tortoise Training October 2013 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tortoise Training – June 24th

  1. cheap gold says:

    hi!this is very good site!

Leave a Reply

