Tortoise Training – September 1st – 7th

Morning all!

I’ve some great feedback! This was my second week of my 5day running schedule and it felt great! In total I ran 38.10k in five workouts. I started out the week with a productive 16k and crushed it! Then for the rest of the week I had this mindset…

https://i1.wp.com/media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/originals/f7/6b/49/f76b49dd79caad064ad1fabf79dbf448.jpgON WARD TO TRAINING!

Monday – Long Run 16k
This Sunday I was still in Toronto with Andy and we were slightly uncertain about this run, given the last 16k we did was a little disappointing. Instead of taking the Don Valley Trail we decided to run down to Cherry Beach and run past the 13k mark that we had previously set for ourselves. There are a few reasons why we decided not to run the Don Valley Trail again… one major one being that a male runner had allegedly been sexually assaulted, there are way too many bikers, too many distractions since you are close to the high way and there isn’t a water fountain for miles. Cherry Beach wins! Here you get a mix of city, beach and nature trail running. There are still bikers on this path but since it is narrow in spots, people a bit more cautious while cycling down an awkward bend. We finished this run in 1hour31mins.

Tuesday – Short Run 5k
This was a brisk quick run and I completed this in 28mins45secs.

Wednesday – Longer Run 7k
According to my training plan tonight I was supposed to do hills with a 3k warm up and a 3k cool down. However I wasn’t sure how to go about the hills since Ottawa is pretty flat. So I decided to go for the 7k instead. It felt kind of weird running a longer route considering a lot of my week time training consists of shorter runs. It took a few minutes to get into 7k mode – this was completed in 40mins25secs.

Thursday – Short Run 5k plus stairs
Today I figured I would get my hills in by hitting the stairs at work. This was a killer work out on my calves, I figured I would take it easy and do two sets of eight stairs. Then after that I went home and ran 5k. My training plan advised that 6k should be run, however my stomach was acting up today and I played it safe with a 5K. I completed this run in 31mins01sec.

Friday – Rest/Travel Day

Saturday – Short Run 5k
Today I’m in Toronto and running with Andy. Neither of us wanted to go for a run AT ALL today. But we went out and did it and ran it in 26mins20secs.

All and all a great training week and we will see what’s in store for next week! Happy Training 🙂

J

Follow me!

MapMyRun: jasminleigh
Twitter: @jasminleigh
Instagram: jasminleigh
Vine : jasminleigh
Tumblr: runit24
Pinterest: jasminleigh
(Please note a few of these social media tools are set to private, just send me a request and we can be friends!)

About jasminglaw

Half Marathoner trying to put a few more races under her belt before taking on a full marathon. I avidly research different running products/gear and articles pertaining to the joy of running. I also enjoy traveling, reading, languages, and good food!
This entry was posted in Tortoise Training October 2013 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

