Trying new things is fun!

After my most recent race, the Scotiabank Half Marathon in Toronto, my knee had a mysterious pain that made it unbearable to run more than 3km. As discouraging as that was it gave me the motivation to try new types of exercise while toning down on the running until my knee healed. This blog post is highly appropriate because most to all runners experience injury and a lot of times routine can be boring. Here are a few things I’ve tried out.

6a00e550efb5fb8833010534df69cb970b-800wiLow Intensity Zumba
Zumba is a fun, high cardio work out that get the heart rate pumping and hips shaking. However, I did not attend a class because I find that if you are a bit slower it’s a bit frustrating to catch up on all the moves… especially with a sore knee. So instead, I turned to YouTube and picked video that had preferred tempo, specific song, and compliant dance moves. One of my favourite videos can be found here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y9raJrc-X9k

Swimming
etiquette_cartoon
It has been a loooong time since I have swam in a pool. When I was young I used to swim like a fish. I had recently signed up for a membership with the YMCA solely for the weights and the pool. Given that I have to start my 30k training on December 15th, I revised the training schedule and decided that swimming would be a nice and warm cardio replacement for harsh winter days. This past Sunday Andy and I took to the YMCA pool to swim some lanes. We both felt very much out of our element but we ‘dove’ right in. I was able to get in 7 lanes, but man was it tiring!

6b5Weights (arms and back)
This has been something I have been wanting to work on for awhile. During my running training I’ve always thought that I should have a bit more arm strength in order to propel my arm movements even faster and stronger. With my new gym membership I go work out my arms, back and abs almost every other day.

 

 

Treat yourself [in moderation]
This portion entails that I eat whatever I want as long as it is in moderation. The only way that I can sum up this is to say… YOLO! Cookies are delicious and full of sugar – however sometimes your body needs that kind of sugar to balance.
images

 

 

 

J

MapMyRun: jasminleigh
Twitter: @jasminleigh
Instagram: jasminleigh
Tumblr: runit24

About jasminglaw

Half Marathoner trying to put a few more races under her belt before taking on a full marathon. I avidly research different running products/gear and articles pertaining to the joy of running. I also enjoy traveling, reading, languages, and good food!
This entry was posted in Pensés and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Trying new things is fun!

  1. Pingback: Balancing Current Goals and Setting Future Goals | Little Green Running Shoes

Leave a Reply

