Winter Training, Week 1 – 30k Around the Bay – March 2014

MERRRY CHRISTMAS! My gift to myself… another race! This time a 30k 🙂

The time has finally arrived!!! Another round of training and Week 1 is complete! I cannot express how intimidated and excited I am to be running the Around the Bay on March 30th 2014 in Hamilton, ON. Being a Hamiltonian, I heard of many people crushing this race and some in agony from Heart Break Hill. But like any race, it’s a challenge you need to prep for. For a little insight for those of you who may not have heard of this road race, here is a little snippet from the site…

“Hamilton’s Around the Bay Road Race is the oldest on the continent, first run in 1894, three years before the Boston Marathon. Rich in tradition, it has been won by the best from around the world, including Boston Marathon winners and Olympic gold medallists. Become part of the continuing tradition by running this challenging course around Hamilton’s natural harbour!” (Around the Bay Official Site)

Last year I ran the 5k race with my dad and we had a great time. Before this I had only run a 10k race in Ottawa, ON; so it was a little bit of a change up. However, this year myself and my boyfriend Andy will be participating in this race. We recently ran a the ScotiaBank Half Marathon in October 2013 and we worked really well as a team. I am hoping that we can do the same and endure the extra 9km.
As always, I have found a training schedule that leads us right up to race day. I have just finished Week 1 but check out the rest of the training details below! To see what the course looks like, click here.

Date Sun Mon Tues Wed Thur Fri Sat
Week 1
Dec.15
8 kms
5 s/km > Race Pace
OFF 5 kms
6/10 pace
flush out run
Cross Train 6 kms
7/10 pace
8 kms
with 2 km
drop-downs to RP
3 kms or OFF
easy pace
Week 2
Dec.22
10 kms
As above
OFF 7 kms
easy pace
OFF
Christmas
8 kms
negative split
4k 5s/k>RP 4k RP
OFF 10 kms
Tempo
1/2 Marathon RP
Week 3
Dec.29
Hill Reps
45 mins
up & down strong
8 kms
6/10 pace
Cross Train OFF
New Year’s Day
7 kms
Race Pace
5 kms
6/10 pace
12 kms
Fartlek
Week 4
Jan.5
As Above
ATB Course/RBG lot
45 mins on Valley hill
7 kms
6/10 pace
OFF Intervals
500 m 7/10 pace:
500 m easy x 10
6 kms
Tempo
Marathon RP
OFF Clinic
ATB Course
16 kms LaSalle Park to Queen St & bk
Week 5
Jan.12
12 kms
5k at 7/10 pace, 4k at RP,
3k at 6/10 pace
OFF 10 kms
7/10 pace
Cross Train OFF 8 kms
Tempo at 10 km RP
10 kms
6/10 pace
Week 6
Jan.19
Rolling terrain
20 k-4 k drop-downs
10s/k>RP to 10s/k<RP
As Above 8 kms
Tempo
1/2 Marathon Pace
Hill reps
60 mins backwards,
forwards, 1-leg hop
OFF 10 kms
6/10 pace
12 kms
5k@7/10, 4k@RP
3 kms at 6/10 pace
Week 7
Jan.26
ATB Course
22k from J Brant Hosp
to Dundurn St & back
As Above 9 kms
1/2 at RP
1/2 at 5s/k>RP
Cross Train OFF 8 kms
Tempo
15 k RP
12 kms
at 6/10 pace
trail run
Week 8
Feb.2
Hilly route
24 km
4 reps of 6k hill route
As Above 8 kms
6/10 pace
Track/Flat Road
400×2,800×4,1km.x2
each rep at race finish time
OFF 8 kms
Fartlek
12 kms
8 k at 10s/>RP
4 k at 5s/k<RP
Week 9
Feb.9
ATB Course
26 kms (negative split)
J Brant H to Copps + bk
As Above As Above Cross Train OFF 7 kms
Fartlek
flat route
14 kms
8 k at 10s/>RP
6k at 5s/k>RP
Week 10
Feb.16
28 kms
6 k of hill reps at 20 kms
rest of kms 5s/k>RP
As Above 9 kms
6/10 pace
Track/Flat Road
1 km x 6 reps
each rep at race finish time
OFF 6 kms
Tempo
1/2 Marathon RP
14 kms -ve split
7 k at 10s/k>RP
7 k at RP
Week 11
Feb.23
ATB Course
30k full route from Copps
try to go at Race Pace
As Above 8 kms
6/10 pace
hilly route
10 kms @ RP
flat route
As Above 8 kms
7/10 pace
15 kms
Fartlek
Week 12
Mar.2
28 kms
8k hill reps at 17 km mark
rest of kms 5s/k>RP
As Above 10 kms
Tempo
1/2 Marathon Pace
Cross Train As Above 6 kms
6/10 pace
16 kms
10 k at 5s/k>RP
6k Intervals,1/2k on 1/2k OFF
Week 13
Mar.9
ATB Course
30k full route from Copps
negative split 5s/k&lgt;RP
As Above 7 kms
Fartlek
Track/Flat Road
800×4, 1kmx3
each rep at race finish time
As Above 10 kms
Tempo
1/2 Marathon RP
12 kms +ve split
5k at 5s/k>RP
5k at RP
Week 14
Mar.16
28kms
7k hill reps at 17k mark
rest of kms 5s/k>RP
As Above 8 kms
7/10 pace
Track/Flat Road
800×5, 1kmx4
as above
As Above 10 kms
mix 5k of pick-ups
5k 6/10 pace
14 kms
mix 10k of long intervals
with 4k 6/10 pace
Week 15
Mar.23
ATB Course
22 km route (6/10 pace)
J Brant H to Dundurn + bk
8 kms
6/10 pace
OFF Hilly Route
12 kms at RP
2 km cool down jog
8 kms
4 k at 10s/k>RP
4 k at 5s/k>RP
OFF 4 kms
Strides
REST
Week 16
Mar.30
RACE DAY

On to Week 1 training!

imageSunday: I will not lie when I say we had a rough start to training; and by rough I mean hung over. It was Andy’s birthday last week and we had to celebrate, Ugly Christmas Sweater style! So today involved a lot of sleep, recuperation, eating and laziness. Hey, we got the 8k in… the next day!

Monday: Time for a fresh start to a chilly afternoon run. Two days ago we had a big snowstorm and Andy and I had wanted to run outside but we could barely walk outside. So I anticipated unshoveled sidewalks and hidden ice, but it honestly wasn’t that bad! The lovely townies had done their neighbourly duties and shoveled their portion of the sidewalk and left the rest up to the city. Only, silly me… at around 2k I thought I would be okay to take my normal cut off through a park since I had experienced such clean sidewalks… NOPE! Apparently park sidewalks do not get shoveled… I grew up on a farm, sidewalks are a foreign concept to me :p. At 6km I took a 1min walk break; I didn’t want to over do it as I haven’t run more than 6k since my last half marathon. I finished this training session in 49min:12secs at a pace of 5:59km/min – According to my Garmin report my average pace per km was 6:10. Not a great pace, but I’ll take it considering the conditions I had to run in.
**Tool of the day: Metric Pace Conversion Chart

Tuesday: Today was a 5k day but it was still hard to make myself get up and out to go for a run. Luckily… and unluckily, today had been snowy and the sidewalks weren’t looking to inviting. So I packed my gym back and headed to work for noon. I thought I would have more time before I would have to suck it up and just run on the treadmill; but no, second day in I sucked it up. I worked 12pm-5pm and then I headed over to the YMCA to get some kms underway. Since I am not Garmin expert, I set my watch to indoors and used the time setting – I didn’t like this because I find that the treadmill tracking is usually off… For instance, today I apparently completed 4.79km in 30mins. Giiiirl, 30mins is my best 6km, not 5km. Oh well, I will come up with some type of system! In addition to this 30min run, I did some leg work outs and tried to focus on my thighs.

Wednesday: Hump day, no. Crosstraining day! I made an executive decision while revising this schedule to declare that, “Crosstraining days”, will be weights or swimming days. Today I chose weights and focused on back and shoulders.

Thursday: Time for an outdoors run! Despite the fact of having woken up at 4:30am for work, I was quite awake and full of energy to get this 6k out of the way. The roads and sidewalks were in decent shape in my area and the temperature was mild. PERFECT! I felt super speedy and strong during this run. However, I find that most of the time when you feel fast… you really aren’t… as pessimistic as that sounds.

image-1Friday: Out of the Christmas spirit, I skipped Friday’s 8k run to go out for a nice dinner with Andy 🙂

Saturday: We picked up the 8k run at the downtown Toronto YMCA… not on a treadmill, on an indoor track! Now I said that with enthusiasm because as put off I was at first it was actually a great switch up from running outdoors – I got to wear shorts :o! However, I won’t lie, my initial reaction was… I have to do how many laps to reach 1k on this tiny track? The answer was 9laps/km, but it really wasn’t that bad once you get into a groove and it was muuuuuuch warmer. My only problem was that I wasn’t sure that my watch would pick up a satellite signal so I just left it… but then it picked up signal at some point and recorded 2k of my 8k.  This 8k was finished indoors in 40mins56secs and our average pace according to Andy’s Nike+ was around 5:05-5:10/km.

Not sure what to eat while training? Here are a few of the meals I ate this week to boost my energy and protein levels.
image-5<- Black Bean Salad from Skinny Taste

image-4

Fish and Rice with oil and Feta Cheese ->

Well that was Week 1 of this grueling training I have ahead of me. Check back next week for Week 2! Also, Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays to all!

J

GarminConnect: jasminleigh
Twitter: @jasminleigh
Instagram: jasminleigh
Tumblr: runit24

About jasminglaw

Half Marathoner trying to put a few more races under her belt before taking on a full marathon. I avidly research different running products/gear and articles pertaining to the joy of running. I also enjoy traveling, reading, languages, and good food!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Winter Training ATB 2014 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

