Winter Training – Week 3 – 30k Around the Bay – March 2014

It’s gone air borne! You all know what I’m talking about, the flu. There have been many articles and advisories about the flu and how hard it’s hitting this winter season. One major solution that doctors have been recommending is the flu shot. However, if you are stubborn like me… and think that you have a strong immunity like me… you’ve probably have been sick at some point this winter. In addition to this illness, my motivation and determination levels have been at an all time low – hence the tardiness of this post 😦 My sincerest apologies!! Now on to the training!

Sunday: Today was supposed to be, “Hill Reps of 45mins up and down”. And then it was supposed to be weights… it was neither, haha! Today I was still in Ottawa visiting Andy’s family, unfortunately his mum and I caught something the night before. I had a headache, sore throat and minimal energy. So like any sick person I snuggled up and watched Breaking Bad all day.
photo 1-1Monday: Another day dragged down by illness and travel. After a 5.5hr drive I was the happiest girl to see my bed and my dog.

Tuesday: It’s New Year’s Eve! Like many of you avidly athletic people I went to the gym to get in my last work out of 2013. Today was a crosstraining day so I focused on weights, back, shoulders and abs…. thennnn I drank and ate delicious appetizers 🙂

Wednesday: HAPPY 2014! We made it to a new year! In southern Ontario, mainly Toronto, we suffered extreme heat, ice storms, icy sidewalks and blackouts. However as a safety precaution I spent today indoors resting up for my first day at my new job!

Thursday: Today I started my new job with the Federal Government and despite the fact that the office was quiet I was still “le tired”. With this new job I have a bit of a commute so this means waking up earlier, getting home later, packing what seems to be a ridiculous amount of food and not loosing it and subduing myself to road rage. After work I got home, had a little snack, waited for my food to digest and headed out to the YMCA. Today I was supposed to do 7km, but I was still feeling a little sick. I had a chalky cough and a bit more energy than I did on Sunday. I pulled in a 5km run, guesstimating it to come in at 30mins.

Friday: Since I ran 5km on Thursday instead of 7km, I swapped them and took to my favourite place… the indoor track at the YMCA. This run wasn’t that bad, I was still tired from being sick, but as I took in air it was a lot easier to breath. I dub this a comfortable 7km ran in about 40mins.

Saturday: Even though I had only run two times this week I was over it and didn’t want anything to do with my scheduled 12km… I wanted to do something outdoors and fun! I could have ran outdoors but the sidewalks in Toronto are a hazard and I wouldn’t want to break one of my gazelle legs on that. “Ain’t nobody got time for that”. My morning consisted of being lazy until about 1pm when Andy and I finally made a plan for ourselves.
We would go to the barber (for him), then head down to the Habour Front rink in Toronto for some old fashioned skating. Given that I haven’t skated in oh, about 10years, I felt like Bambi on ice – and not the choreographed Disney on Ice either. Luckily, after waiting at least 30-40mins in line to get our skates sharpened, I didn’t fall once! I pulled some cool, semi-accidental moves, but other than that it was awesome! I would love to have a day where I could skate my km in lieu of running them.

I apologize for the short, sickly and tardy blog entry! Maybe I’ll get my flu shot and a Starbucks card so that I’m healthy and always awake to write this on time :p

J

GarminConnect: jasminleigh
Twitter: @jasminleigh
Instagram: jasminleigh
Tumblr: runit24

About jasminglaw

Half Marathoner trying to put a few more races under her belt before taking on a full marathon. I avidly research different running products/gear and articles pertaining to the joy of running. I also enjoy traveling, reading, languages, and good food!
This entry was posted in Winter Training ATB 2014 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

