Winter Training, Week 7 – 30k Around the Bay – March 2014

Yay to a relaxing week! When I look at my training schedule I realize that I only trained four times this week – but I tried to keep the kms high. Likewise my nights off were lazy and full of icing/recuperation.

Sunday:Long run day!! I’ve been get antsy to run outside but this run took the cake on that sentiment. Running in circles can get quite tedious and today I ran 20k in 2hours01sec!! As per usual/as per the usual weather, this run was completed indoors at the YMCA. Having taken the night before off Andy and I feel great and super comfortable with the distance we had to run. We broke it up into 5k intervals with a minute water break and stretch. I will be completely honest. If I had to run one more km I probably would have blew some type of gasket. I think that when running indoors, if you have to count your laps to track your distance, it becomes strenuous to see how great you’re doing because you’ve counted 180 laps. It’s a brain game no doubt!

Monday: Designated rest day!! There was no waaaay I would think or touch anything to do with the gym. Even if my bag were to be in the middle of the room. Ice/recup night!

Tuesday: Time to get back to it! Here’s to the 8k I ran in 48min19secs – all while my calves burnt with the ferocity of a thousand suns!

Wednesday: Something about last night’s run must have errked me quite a bit… Or maybe it was the overtime I put in at work. Who knows! All I knew was that I wanted nothing to do with the gym and everything to do with the contents of the fridge!

Thursday: You know when you’re at work, it’s near the end of the day and you start to think of what you’d like to make for supper…. I had sweet potatoes on the brain. I couldn’t wait to get home from work to meal prep then head to the gym! When I got home I put the sweet potatoes in the oven so they were soft when I can back home – left them in for about 45mins and marched over to the gym to run a 10k. Andy and I ran this 10k with some ease and a little bit of calve pain, however when we got home I knew what would be next and it was sweet! A great post 10k dinner of mashed sweet potatoes, chicken and brussel sprouts.

Capture
For more fun facts on this veggie follow this link for an infographic from Visual.ly.

photoFriday: Date night! Andy and I bought tickets to go see, Les Miserables, one of my favourite stories of all time! I can honestly say that I am a huge Les Mis nerd, having bought all the movies, the books in French and English and after this screening this will have been the second time I’ve seen this play – the first time was in London a few years ago.


Saturday:
Sometimes even with a night off, your run can be out of whack. Today I wanted to run 22k instead of running it Sunday because it’s Superbowl Sunday, but I just couldn’t. I am getting tired of running in circles on the track; if I were to have run photo222k that would have been 198laps. My brain and calves were over this run at 12k. A good thing that did happen though was Andy and I got to chat with some experienced marathoners that were training at the YMCA (for a half marathon and the Ottawa half marathon) as well. It was actually flattering to be asked if we were training – means we look like runners ;). We told them that we are training for the Around the Bay 30k in March and they thought that was awesome! But strongly advised us to start doing more hill training or else we would be dead at, “Heart Break Hill”. One man said, “Never walk up the hills! Run them all the way!”. Better said than done I suppose… Haha!

J

GarminConnect: jasminleigh
Twitter: @jasminleigh
Instagram: jasminleigh
Tumblr: runit24

About jasminglaw

Half Marathoner trying to put a few more races under her belt before taking on a full marathon. I avidly research different running products/gear and articles pertaining to the joy of running. I also enjoy traveling, reading, languages, and good food!
This entry was posted in Winter Training ATB 2014 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Winter Training, Week 7 – 30k Around the Bay – March 2014

Leave a Reply

