Winter Training, Week 8 – 30k Around the Bay – March 2014

Taking a look back at my accomplishments this week I don’t feel like I completed that much. I did three work outs and my total kms ran was only 16km. But I guess that is okay, I’ve still have been trying to get over this cold – sniffles, snot and coughing. Here’s what I did!

Screen Shot 2014-02-02 at 10.02.11 PMSunday: SUPERBOWL SUNDAY! Today was a rush, rush day. Since Andy and I ran that pitiful 12k yesterday, today was a day off. So I headed home to do some laundry, see the family and then I made some sausage rolls and beignets then headed over to my friends Sam and Alex’s house to watch the Superbowl. So much food, so much football… Oh, and Bruno Mars’s performance was great!

Monday: Back to the gym! I’ve started to notice that when I work out my chest and upper body that I’ve had better runs. I felt the soreness in my chest and arms while pumping my arms to propel myself forward further and faster. I would suggest doing Bench Press or Incline Bench Press.

Tuesday: Back to the track for an 8k. This run felt pretty good, I wasn’t up to speed pulling 5min kms but I’m okay with that. My final time was 44mins13secs93.

Wednesday: Night off! I probably felt like eating – Haha, I can’t exactly remember!

Thursday: The problem I find with tracking my time per run is that when you take a bit longer then it’s discouraging. Like most runners say, ‘Never race others around you, always race yourself’. Essentially, always try to challenge and beat your PBs to improve your time and finesse your techniques. Tonight’s 8k was completed in 46mins11secs57.

photoFriday: Tonight Andy and I had to head to Ottawa to help his parents move. So what do you do with situations such as these? Go buy road snacks! Yum!
Screen Shot 2014-02-17 at 10.53.12 PM

Saturday: Moving day! Lucky for us a lot of their stuff was already moved over… plus pretty well Andy’s WHOLE family came to help. Cousins, second cousins, everyone! It made for a long day but we had a short Starbucks date to end the night.

Haha, like I said it wasn’t a very productive week and I’m still trying to catch up on my blog! So if you see two posts this week that is why 🙂

J

GarminConnect: jasminleigh
Twitter: @jasminleigh
Instagram: jasminleigh
Tumblr: runit24

About jasminglaw

Half Marathoner trying to put a few more races under her belt before taking on a full marathon. I avidly research different running products/gear and articles pertaining to the joy of running. I also enjoy traveling, reading, languages, and good food!
This entry was posted in Winter Training ATB 2014 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

