Winter Training, Week 9 – 30k Around the Bay – March 2014

After a weekend in Ottawa it was time to get home and get ready for the work week, shoot another YouTube video for Andy Media and plan out this week’s runs.
20140223-215140.jpgSunday: Our last day in Ottawa, Andy and I made plans to meet up with a 20140223-214914.jpgcouple of friends for coffee! It’s always nice to catch up in person – my attention span via text is quite short lol. An awkward thing happened when I ordered my London Fog… the barista [for some reason] thought that a tea latte required a shot of espresso. A biiiiiiig no no. Earl Grey tea and freshly ground espresso do not mix!
Later that afternoon we headed back to Toronto and were so happy veg out and watch the second Hunger Games on our newly acquired TV stand :). Thanks B and D!

Monday: Back to work, welp! Good thing was that I was nice and rested for tonight’s 8k run. Back to the track, finishing in 47mins 39secs.

Tuesday: It had felt like forever since I had lifted weights!! I needed to do some bench press to get my arms moving for this week’s runs. I ate my dinner early and went to the gym late – it was awesommmme!

Wednesday: After talking to those two marathon men the other week I thought it time to do some incline training… finally. To split up my time, and to avoid becoming bored on the treadmill, I ran 5k on the track and then I ran my 5k time on the treadmill;while doing interval training. 27mins/work out and I felt pretty good about my interval training; only a slight burn in my thighs.

20140223-215058.jpgThursday: Instead of taking a rest night, I went back to Zumba!

Friday: Well, would you look at that… it’s Valentine’s Day! Guess where I was… WRONG, I was not training!! Andy and I went out for Korean BBQ – it was sooo good – and then we had some wine time.
20140223-215130.jpg

Saturday: My goal today was to elapse my longest run to get more kms on the board. Since we were in Toronto, Andy and I ran along the water towards the west end. We maintained 5k intervals up until 20k. We ran from downtown Toronto to Etobicoke… let me tell you, looking back at the half way point my thoughts were, “I have to run back?”. But once we hit 20k we were both DONE! Such fatigue, we had to drop down to 1k intervals. We made it, we did this in about 2hours28mins – unfortunately my Garmin died around 23k :(. Despite the fatigue, I felt so accomplish – Just wait until I complete the Around the Bay, I might collapse in joy.

J20140223-215202.jpg

GarminConnect: jasminleigh
Twitter: @jasminleigh
Instagram: jasminleigh
Tumblr: runit24

About jasminglaw

Half Marathoner trying to put a few more races under her belt before taking on a full marathon. I avidly research different running products/gear and articles pertaining to the joy of running. I also enjoy traveling, reading, languages, and good food!
This entry was posted in Winter Training ATB 2014 and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

