Light Recipe – Comment vous dites ca? Kuu-rrrap-e? – Crêpes edition

A few weekends ago my parents went of vacation to St. Marteen and they showed me all of their photos… including their foodie ones. One morning they went to a crepe bar and ordered some delicious looking breakfast crepes… it made me want one really bad! So, I went ahead the next morning and made my own! The great thing about this cooking adventure is that I cooked, tasted a typical crepe recipe and then hunted down, cooked and enjoyed a healthier option for this delicious breakfast treat.

Option 1: The first recipe I tried I found on allrecipes.com – the basic crepe for beginners like myself.
Basic Crepes RecipeI found this recipe to be really tasty, and mildly addictive because it’s sweetness gives a sort of buffer room for creating a breakfast crepe, a desert crepe or just a plain crepe. My suggestion for you is if you enjoy the sweetness of a parisen crepe, go for the basic recipe with all the fixings!
However, on a personal level, whilst I was making these it came to mind the amount of sugar and butter used to make these could be substituted for something much lighter. That is where my hunt began!

Option 2: The second recipe I tried I found on foodiefiasco.com – a healthier/lighter option for those looking for a crepe fix, minus all the sugar.Crepes

I enjoyed this recipe much more because the ingredients used in this were so simple! I had an Epiphany where I thought, “Why didn’t I think of this before?”. Applesauce is a great replacement for sugars! The author of this site focuses on Vegan, Gluten Free and Low Carb meals; this crepe is a simple intro into these different lifestyles! With 21 calories in each crepe you can add in fruits or proteins such as eggs, and vegetables and not feel the heaviness that sugar leaves you with.

Bon appetit mes amis!

About jasminglaw

Half Marathoner trying to put a few more races under her belt before taking on a full marathon. I avidly research different running products/gear and articles pertaining to the joy of running. I also enjoy traveling, reading, languages, and good food!
This entry was posted in Superfood and Light Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Light Recipe – Comment vous dites ca? Kuu-rrrap-e? – Crêpes edition

  1. Aah I love your blog! Thank you so much for the link love my dear.

  2. Pingback: Winter Training, Week 11 – 30k Around the Bay – March 2014 | Run It

Leave a Reply

