Winter Training, Week 13 – 30k Around the Bay – March 2014

Here is some double trouble for your week, two posts! I’ve caught up !

This past wee was pretty satisfying. I ran, I lifted and I breathed through my nose! It sounds a lot more exciting than you might think…

20140320-224654.jpgSunday: Like Subway, I’d like to change today’s day to another name; Personal Best Day! PBD for short. Andy and I took on the challenge to get our longest run yet in today; a 26k up and down the lake front of Toronto. We started our run at his place and ran south down towards Cherry Beach and back up along Queens Quay to the west end where we ran along Lake Shore until we hit 13k. Around this point I tested out my Cliff Power Gel. I am not usually one for gels since I don’t like the texture, but this one wasn’t too bad. After the first squirt or so I was able to appreciate the flavour and just suck it up. Literally. 20140320-224637.jpgWe completed this 26k run with tons of energy and made our way to a Starbucks to reward ourselves. I’ve never enjoyed a Caramel Macciato that intensely! Mmmm!

Monday: Rest day! And much deserved! I had recently started a shop on Etsy and I have been wanting to take photos of Andy in his bowtie that I made him for my shop. That was one of tonight’s activities.
il_570xN.574749062_oklk

My Etsy: jasminleighdesigns

Tuesday: Screw the run, I’m lifting weights. Chest/Back and abs tonight. Everyone needs a quick change in routine, don’t you think?

Wednesday: For about the past week or so we have been lucky enough not to have too much snow fall. However, today it RAGED! Then the weather put me in some sort of, “cabin fever” cross with “lazy” mood and I didn’t want to go work out. Instead, I complained about not working out and I went to Indigo with Andy.

Thursday: 5k track, 20mins treadmill and foamroll.

Friday: To make up for Wednesday I told myself that I would go to a class on Friday night. The only one that had caught my eye was Kundalini Yoga. Although, I had never done this type of Yoga before, it was a lot of nose breathing. I won’t lie it was kind of awkward and I probably won’t go back. But if you don’t try, then you’ll never know.

Saturday: Today the forecast called for amazing temperatures and sunny skies. It was a mix of that and a little bit of wind – PERFECT! Andy and I set out to run 23k starting down at Cherry Beach and to the West end along Lake Shore. All was going well, we had our energy snacks, a bit of water and ENERGY! However, when we made it back down to Cherry Beach to turn around back home Andy’s knee started to give him grief. Annnnnd, we were both getting annoyed with one another. It was time to quit while we were ahead. We stopped at the 23k mark and conveniently near the TNT Asian supermarket. We dipped in, grabbed some snacks and we felt a million times better! I was a little disheartened because I wanted to hit the 28k mark before race weekend, but it wasn’t in the cards.

J
GarminConnect: jasminleigh
Twitter: @jasminleigh
Instagram: jasminleigh
Tumblr: runit24

About jasminglaw

Half Marathoner trying to put a few more races under her belt before taking on a full marathon. I avidly research different running products/gear and articles pertaining to the joy of running. I also enjoy traveling, reading, languages, and good food!
This entry was posted in Winter Training ATB 2014 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

