MIA, Injured and Slightly Paleo

Where have I been since the Around the Bay? I think the title of this post sums it up quite nicely 🙂

20140425-094649.jpgMIA: I apologize for my absence and I want to assure you all that I’m still running… just not as much. I won’t lie in saying that I’ve been binge watching some shows, going to zumba, going out for lattes and reading a bit more. A small switch up until I plan out my next few races.

INJURED: After the Around the Bay I decided to cool down on the routine scheduled running and take up a few classes at the YMCA to switch it up. I felt pretty good the two weeks after the race and I ran a few times, did a few zumba classes and approached my fitness in a fun adhoc way. That was until Easter weekend. It had all started on the Thursday night before I went to Zumba. My foot was feeling a little sore and I wasn’t sure what was up. My first mistake, going to the Zumba class anyway. Not that being new to Zumba is a bad thing, but I felt like I was relearning steps and that I could exert as much energy and attitude as per usual. What happened next? Friday morning I woke up with a swollen foot. My second mistake, that in retrospect would have been my first mistake if I hadn’t been so ignorant was that I had been wearing crappy flats and old sneakers for the better part of the week. My foot was not getting the TLC it deserved three weeks after running 30k. As a result, I had a busy Easter weekend that included running errands, playing with kids and making my mum a half vegan tiramisu cheesecake. Needless to say that all the energy I exhausted on the weekend could have been divided out a tad more gracefully if I had been wearing proper shoes and rested when I should have rested.

SLIGHTLY PALEO: I believe I had mentioned this in one of my previous blog posts, either way I’ve changed up my diet and shifted towards Paleo. I didn’t make this change because I want to loose weight or because of any allergies. I did it because it makes me feel good. Paleo style of eating can be described as caveman/woman-esque, because this diet eliminates grains, legumes, dairy, processed foods and relies heavily on meats, fruits, veggies, seeds etc. Before making this lifestyle change I would eat a lot of grains and legumes. Heck, I could eat half a loaf of fresh bread without realizing it; I have a great appriciation for bread and grains. However, after eating half a loaf of fresh bread I would start to feel bloated and uncomfortable because the grains would make my stomach expand. By eliminating these types of foods and replacing them with more fruits, veggies and meats I’ve been able to maintain comfort and I’ve also increased my energy levels. 
Side note: I’m only slightly Paleo because I make exceptions for weekends and nights out. This type of diet is a large commitment and if you don’t have allergies 20140425-094614.jpgor a lot of weight to loose you can rely on the, “all in moderation” way of life. In addition to this I’ve adopted another trending nutritional vice; Juicing. After watching the documentary, Hungry for Change [by James Colquhoun and Laurentine ten Bosch],  and hearing about all the natural benefits we can receive from healthy foods I was hooked. Particularly on Joe Cross’s weight loss adventure into juicing – from there I watched his documentary Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead. It was truly fascinating how he altered his whole being by changing how he eats. That’s where juicing came in, only I haven’t done a proper 10day cleanse as of yet. Since I exercise [pretty well] daily and maintain a healthy diet, I’ve incorperated juicing into my mornings along with my breakfast. Starting small with a travel cup and A LOT of fruits and veggies smashed up into it. Yum!  Thus far my favourite juice is a Mango, Orange and Carrot concotion.

Mango, Orange and Carrot Juice

1 peeled orange – the rinds give this juice a tangy, sour flavour; something that isn’t for me.
2 ataulfo mangoes
2 carrots
– Stir and enjoy!

20140425-094637.jpgOne last thing… Andy and I finally booked Peru! I can’t wait to tour and go for leisurely runs in Lima, or in the sandy outskirts of Ica, or past a bunch of Incan ruins in Cusco! It’s going to be great!

J

GarminConnect: jasminleigh
Twitter: @jasminleigh
Instagram: jasminleigh
Tumblr: runit24

About jasminglaw

Half Marathoner trying to put a few more races under her belt before taking on a full marathon. I avidly research different running products/gear and articles pertaining to the joy of running. I also enjoy traveling, reading, languages, and good food!
This entry was posted in Pensés and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to MIA, Injured and Slightly Paleo

  1. I’d like to relive stuffing my face with those croissants!

Leave a Reply

